Tennessee Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury

Post By Corey Heit

Many legal actions have a statute of limitations, or a deadline by which to file a claim or case. Statute of limitations can vary from state to state as well, so it will not be the exact same in each state. And for anyone who has been involved in an accident that was the result of another person’s negligence, knowing the Tennessee statute of limitations for personal injury claims is important – especially as you consider taking legal action.

Below, we answer questions about the statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Tennessee and why it’s important.

What is the Statute of Limitations in Tennessee for Personal Injury?

The Tennessee statue of limitations for personal injury claims is defined in Tennessee Code Section 28-3-104. According to this section, you have 1 year from the date of the accident to file a personal injury lawsuit against the liable party. A lawsuit you file against the liable party can be for any injuries sustained and related losses.

This statute of limitations applies to a range of cases, including those that fall under the personal injury category. Your personal injury may have resulted from a car accident, a slip and fall, defective products, medical malpractice, or other means.

You will need to ensure that your claim is filed before this deadline.

How Long Do You Have to File a Personal Injury Lawsuit in Tennessee?

With a deadline of 1 year, the Tennessee statute of limitations for personal injury claims is one of the shortest in the United States. By comparison, Florida’s statute of limitations is 4 years and Ohio’s statute of limitations is 3 years.

Because Tennessee’s statute of limitations is so short, this means you need to be especially quick in filing your claim. If you do not file within the time frame of 1 year, you run the risk of losing your eligibility to seek compensation for your injuries. If you miss the deadline and you try to file a claim, the liable party for your injuries may file a motion to have the case dismissed.

And that’s why it can be important to speak with a personal injury lawyer in Nashville, TN about filing your claim as soon as possible.

What is the Time Limit for Bringing an Action for Personal Injury and Are There Exceptions to Missing the Deadline?

So, are there exceptions to the 1-year time limit?

There are some exceptions to the Tennessee statute of limitations for personal injury claims. Some of those exceptions include:

  1. If the victim was a minor, they have the right to file a claim until they turn 18 years old. On their 18th birthday, the 1 year deadline kicks in.
  2. If criminal charges were brought against the person who’s actions caused your injuries, the statute of limitations will be extended to 2 years, as defined in Tennessee Code Annotated section 28-3-104(a)(2).
  3. If the liable party lives outside of Tennessee or is absent from the state for a period of time following the accident, that time period may not count towards your statute of limitations.

While there are some exceptions to the statute of limitations, you may want to contact a personal injury lawyer for a consultation. Each personal injury case differs, and you’ll want to have an experienced attorney look at the details of your own case to see if you may qualify for one of the above exceptions.

Contact a Personal Injury Lawyer in Nashville, TN

If you or a loved one has sustained injuries in an accident through the negligence of another person, it can be prudent to contact a personal injury lawyer in Nashville, TN. Here at Heit Law, LLC, founder, and experienced attorney Corey Heit has represented thousands of clients.

He understands how stressful and devastating a personal injury can be. And in the aftermath of an accident, you should be able to focus on recovery. Contacting a personal injury lawyer like Corey Heit will allow you to recover while Corey handles the legal side of things as you seek compensation. Including filing your claim in a timely manner.

You can connect with Heit Law, LLC today over the phone at 615-962-3000 or through online means. Initial consultations are free and confidential.

Search Our Site

Consultation Form

Columbus Location

2600 Corporate Exchange Dr #109
Columbus, OH 43231
Phone: 614-898-5300
Toll Free: 877-898-HEIT


Nashville Office

555 Marriott Dr Suite: 315
Nashville, TN 37214, USA

Phone: 615-962-3000